The Welsh Baccalaureate

What is the Welsh Baccalaureate?  

The Welsh Baccalaureate, or Welsh Bacc for short, is unique to Wales.   

It helps prepare students between the ages of 14 and 19 for employability, further study and life. 

A student is awarded the Welsh Bacc by achieving a specified combination of qualifications. 

At the heart of the Welsh Bacc is the Skills Challenge Certificate - an innovative skills-based qualification. 

The Welsh Bacc also incorporates:   

  • GCSEs in English or Welsh Language, and Mathematics or Mathematics-Numeracy. The literacy and numeracy components of the Essential Skills Wales qualification can also be used; and 
  • a choice of supporting qualifications - GCSEs, A levels or vocational.  

The Welsh Bacc is awarded at three levels: 

  • Foundation (level 1) at key stage 4; 
  • National (level 2) at key stage 4; 
  • Advanced (level 3). 

A student is awarded the Welsh Bacc by achieving the specified combination of qualifications for each level. 

Download our Welsh Bacc information postcard here